Mallards Wood
You are here

Learning Key Stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, your child’s teacher will formally assess their performance to measure your child’s progress.

​KS1  ​This covers Years 1 and 2, for children aged 5-7 years.

At the end of Year 1 your child will take part in phonics screening test, where your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. Other key tasks and tests include:

  • Reading;
  • Writing;
  • Speaking and Listening;
  • Maths; and
  • Science.

At the end of Year 2 your child will be assessed in:

  • English reading;
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling; and
  • Maths (including mental arithmetic).

KS2  ​This covers Years 3 to 6, for children aged 7-11 years.

During Year 6 your child will take part in national tests and teacher assessments in English, Maths and Science

KS3  This covers Years 7 to 9, for children aged 11-14 years.

Your child will be continually assessed by teachers in the compulsory National Curriculum subjects.

KS4  This covers Years 10 to 11, for children aged 14-16 years.

During this period most children will take GCSEs, some in Year 10, or other National qualifications.

For further details on the National Curriculum please refer to

← Back to Useful Information